The SHAWG membership draws on expertise from across the sector, both individuals and organisations that have a responsibility or interest in increasing the awareness and subsequent actions related to positive sheep health and welfare.

Current members:

Agricultural Industries Confederation (AIC) Inge Verwoerd
Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board (AHDB)[secretariat] Liz Genever,

Adam Quinney,

Laura Ryan

Agrisearch Jason Rankin
Animal and Plant Health Agency (APHA) Amanda Carson
Animal Disease Surveillance Governance Board Paul Roger
Animal Health and Welfare Board for England (AHWBE) Tim Morris
Animal Health Distributors Association (AHDA) Bryan Lovegrove
Association of Independent Meat Suppliers (AIMS) Norman Bagley
British Meat Processors Association (BMPA) Fiona Steiger
British Retail Consortium Duncan Sinclair
Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra) Nigel Gibbens

Terry Gurnhill

Farmer representative (England) Peter Baber
Farmer representative (England) Charles Sercombe (chair)
Farmer representative (England) Will Rawling
Farmer representative (Northern Ireland) Crosby Cleland
Farmer representative (Scotland) Nigel Miller
Farmer representative (Wales)
Food Standards Agency (FSA) Milen Georgiev,

Darren Cutts

Hybu Cig Cymru (HCC, Meat Promotion Wales) James Ruggeri
Livestock Auctioneers Association (LAA) Chris Dodds
National Farmers Union (NFU) Rebecca Veale,

Cat McLaughlin

NFU Cymru
NFU Scotland (NFUS) Penny Middleton
National Sheep Association (NSA) Hannah Park,

Phil Stocker

National Office of Animal Health (NOAH) Grace O’Gorman
Red Tractor Assurance (RTA) Jess Sloss
Responsible Use of Medicines in Agriculture Alliance (RUMA) Amy Jackson
Road Haulage Association Ltd Ray Engley
Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (RSPCA) John Avizienius

Sophie Collins

Scottish Government Nick Ambrose
Sheep Veterinary Society (SVS) Tim Beddington,

Rebecca Mearns

Sustainable Control of Parasites in Sheep (SCOPS) Lesley Stubbings
Quality Meat Scotland (QMS) Doug Bell
Ulster Farmers Union
Veterinary Medicine Directorate (VMD) Fraser Broadfoot
Wales Animal Health and Welfare Framework
Welsh Assembly Government Christianne Glossop

Chris Hale